“I’ll Review Your Resume, but I See Problems”

“I’ll Review Your Resume, but I See Problems”

 

I received a resume from a loan officer the other day. A couple of flags went up right away. First, changing offices five times in four years is never a good sign. Second, he needs a steady supply of leads that I would need to pay for, not something that I am willing to do.

 

I sent him the following email:

“Thank you for sharing your resume with me, but I don’t see it as a good fit. All of the loan officers in our company run a referral based business and no leads are purchased. Can you work within that kind of structure? How is it that you changed companies five times in four years?”

 

I don’t expect a response, but if he communicates back with me I would certainly give him the courtesy of an interview.

 

What do you think, would you hire him?

 

Image courtesy of StuartMiles/freedigitalphotos.net

Subscribe to my blog via Email:

 

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

 

Joe Petrowsky, NMLS #6869

Right Trac Financial Group, Inc. NMLS #2709

110 Main St.

Manchester, Ct. 06042

Office: 860 647-7701 x116

Fax: 860 647-8940

Cell: 860 836-9294

Email: joe@righttracfg.com

www.righttracfg.com

www.joepetrowsky.com

Like me on facebookfollow me on twitterConnect with me on linkedin

Joe Petrowsky does not guarantee nor is in any way responsible for the accuracy of the information provided herein, and provides said information without warranties of any kind, either expressed or implied.

Equal Housing Statement: We are pledged to the letter and spirit of U.S. policy for the achievement of equal housing opportunity throughout the Nation. We encourage and support an affirmative advertising and marketing program in which there are no barriers to obtaining housing becuase of race, color, religion, sex, handicap, familial status, or national origin.

Comment balloon 30 commentsJoe Petrowsky • April 26 2016 05:58AM

Comments

Hi Joe.  No I wouldn't.  It is him not the employers.

Posted by Conrad Allen, Webster, Ma, Realtor (Re/Max Professional Associates) 12 months ago

No, I wouldn't even waste my time interviewing him, he's a problem.

Posted by Roger D. Mucci, Lets shake things up at your home today! (Shaken...with a Twist 216.633.2092) 12 months ago

Hi Joe.  I wouldn't rule it out if he came back for an interview.  I would make the decision based on the interview.

Posted by Gabe Sanders, Stuart Florida Real Estate (Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales) 12 months ago

No, I wouldn't hire him.  That's a lot of jobs in a short period time.  Hiring & letting an employee go is very costly.

Posted by Debbie Gartner, The Flooring Girl & Blog Stylist -Dynamo Marketers (The Flooring Girl) 12 months ago

Hiring a new employee takes a great deal of time and money. Most importantly is this person able to represent my company in the right way. This one doesn't appear to fit the bill. 

Posted by Joyce Marsh, Broker Associate, Premier Sotheby's International Realty (Premier Sotheby's International Realty) 12 months ago

I know a real estate agent who fits this description almost exactly. She has been with at least half a dozen companies (one of them twice) in the past four years. She buys leads by the bushel and rarely converts one of them.

Posted by Eric Kodner, CRS, Madeline Island Realty, LaPointe, WI 54850 - (Madeline Island Realty) 12 months ago

Joe, this is one of the reasons why I am so happy I don't have to make those type of decisions! But like you said, if he gets back to you, then an interview can't hurt. Even if you don't hire him it may help him to look at things. Or not. 

Posted by Andrea Swiedler, Realtor, Southern Litchfield County CT (Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage) 12 months ago

Good morning Joe. I think you are right, but if he follows through I'd talk to him too.

Posted by Sheila Anderson, The Real Estate Whisperer Who Listens 732-715-1133 (Referral Group Incorporated) 12 months ago

I might hire them once I heard their explanation, but if I had that resume and nothing else to base the decision on, I would not offer them a job. Honestly, the word that I would feel from reading that resume is "lazy."

Posted by Kat Palmiotti, The House Kat (Grand Lux Realty, 914-419-0270, kat@thehousekat.com) 12 months ago

Many people have not any idea how to do any kind of lead generation...

Posted by Sally K. & David L. Hanson, WI Realtors - Luxury - Divorce - Short Sale (Keller Williams 414-525-0563) 12 months ago

Good morning Joe Petrowsky ,

I don't see this candidate as a viable fit in your company. I don't think he will return your email.

Posted by Dorie Dillard, Serving Buyers & Sellers in NW Austin Real Estate (Coldwell Banker United Realtors® ~ 512.346.1799) 12 months ago

Joe Petrowsky There might be hope for him if his expectations have been stunted by the 'failures' of his past positions. I think I would more look towards letters of recommendation from recent mortgage clients and follow-up to see if they are legitimate.

Posted by Sandy Padula and Norm Padula, JD, GRI NMLS#1483386, Presence,Persistence & Perseverance (Allison James Estates & Homes & Realty One) 12 months ago

Something is not right. Too many changes in such a short time. Someone is not doing what they should be doing...

Posted by Lawrence "Larry" & Sheila Agranoff. Cell: 631-805-4400, Long Island Condo & Home Sale Specialists (The Top Team @ Charles Rutenberg Realty 255 Executive Dr, Plainview NY 11803) 12 months ago

My first two thoughts were that he is either not good at lead generating, or that he has a disagreeable personality. Either way . . . 

Posted by Mimi Foster, Voted Colorado Springs Best Realtor (FALCON PROPERTY SOLUTIONS ) 12 months ago

This is good reading for loan officers who are having production difficulties.

Posted by Roy Kelley, Roy and Dolores Kelley Photographs (Realty Group Referrals) 12 months ago

Hi Joe --- based on your referral-rich approach to business, I'd likely say it's not a good fit but I'd be curious to hear if he responds to your email.   

Posted by Michael Jacobs, Los Angeles Pasadena Area Real Estate 818.516.4393 (Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage) 12 months ago

I would always try to give someone the benefit of the doubt, and interview him.

Posted by Francine Viola, Realtor, In Tune with your Real Estate Needs (Coldwell Banker Evergreen Olympic Realty, Olympia WA) 12 months ago

Hi Joe Petrowsky No way!! you have already been more hospitable to him than I would have been. This is somebody looking for A HANDOUT.

Bill Roberts

Posted by Bill Roberts, "Baby Boomer" Retirement Planner (Brooks and Dunphy Real Estate) 12 months ago

Joe, he is definitely not a fit for you. A

Posted by Ron and Alexandra Seigel, Luxury Real Estate Branding and Marketing (Napa Consultants) 12 months ago

I would proceed cautiously, but I would still proceed. What bothers me more about your blog is not so much the changing companies 4 times in 5 years because that can also show initiative and willingness to promptly correct mistakes, as the fact he expects you to change your way of doing business, because that alone would be a disqualifier if he doesn't acquiesce.

Posted by Elizabeth Weintraub Sacramento Real Estate Agent, Top 1% of Lyon Agents, Put 40 years of experience to work for you (Lyon Real Estate) 12 months ago

From what you described on paper, not. But who knows, Joe, if he actually responds back to you a conversation might shed a light on this issue of changing companies all the time. And if not, then you spent a bit of time confirming this person is not a fit for you.

Posted by Nina Hollander, Your Charlotte/Waxhaw/Fort Mill Area Realtor (RE/MAX Executive | Charlotte, NC) 12 months ago

Joe- years ago when I placed office support staff, I had an applicant that was almost perfect...professional appearance, good skills, and good communication skills.  Only thing was that she'd changed jobs several times.  References were good and she had good reasons for leaving the companies.  The human resources contact at a large financial company told me why she was using caution in hiring this young person.  It wasn't how many jobs she had but that she made poor choices when choosing them.  Just a thought. 

Posted by Kathy Streib, Home Stager - Palm Beach County,FL -561-914-6224 (Room Service Home Staging) 12 months ago

Joe I agree with you, five different offices in four years would be a major red flag for me as well.

Posted by George Souto, Your Connecticut Mortgage Expert (George Souto NMLS #65149 FHA, CHFA, VA Mortgages) 12 months ago

Joe

You have a great business model with your loan officers having a referral based business.

Good luck and success.

Lou Ludwig

Posted by Lou Ludwig, Designations Earned CRB, CRS, CIPS, GRI, SRES, TRC (Ludwig & Associates) 12 months ago

That would worry me too. When one doesn't stay put for long it makes me think that they have commitment issues. 

Posted by Debbie Reynolds, Your Dedicated Clarksville TN Real Estate Agent (Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices PenFed Realty, Your Clarksville Real Estate Professional) 12 months ago

Joe,

It will be interesting to see if you hear back from him, but the fact that he said he needs a steady supply of leads makes one question if he can attract his own business.

Posted by Joe Daniels, Broker, Appraiser, Realtor(R), (Personal Service Realty) 12 months ago

Job hopping is a bad sign Joe. I don't think so.

Posted by Noah Seidenberg, Chicagoland and Suburbs (800) 858-7917 (Coldwell Banker) 12 months ago

I love that you gave him constructive feedback.  Many people would just file the resume in the round file and be done, but you reached out and that is huge.  He may not like what you had to say, but if he is smart, he will take it to heart and maybe take a different approach on the next one.

Posted by Belinda Spillman, Colorado Living! (Aspen Lane Real Estate Colorful Colorado) 12 months ago

If he responds and you have time to interview him, I would. Chances are that he is not the best fit for your company, but you really won't know the exact circumstances until you talk to him. Maybe he just needs some guidance and a mentor to be something spectacular. I'm not sure if you or someone at your office has time for that, or that it is even the case. I just like to give the benefit of the doubt until I know all of the information. 

Posted by Libby Cousins, Contract Mortgage Processor, licensed in WA (Extraordinary Processing) 12 months ago

You make some good points Joe, perhaps he just needs a good role model to get his career on track.

But 4 years is a long time to have not figured it out yet.

Posted by Bob Crane, Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671 (Woodland Management Service) 12 months ago

Participate