“Two Weeks of Negotiations on Home Inspection Issues Finally Got Resolved”

“Two Weeks of Negotiations on Home Inspection Issues Finally Got Resolved”

 

 

 

Joe we have come to an agreement from inspection and we can look to set up appraisal......please send me an itemized list of the documents and or date of appraisal you need from me. TY

 

No one was comfortable moving forward with the appraisal after the home inspection came through with a number of issues, none of them small but finally there was an agreement.

 

The issue was that these two weeks slowed down the ordering of the appraisal so we put a rush on it. Unfortunately that means we won’t make the closing date. The problem is that there is now some hard feelings between buyer and seller, so getting an extension may be another challenge.

 

I have spoken to the selling and listing agent and put them both on notice so that the discussion of a two week extension should be addressed sooner rather than later. Hopefully it won’t take two weeks to negotiate this part of the transaction.

Subscribe to my blog via Email:

 

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

 

Joe Petrowsky, NMLS #6869

Right Trac Financial Group, Inc. NMLS #2709

110 Main St.

Manchester, Ct. 06042

Office: 860 647-7701 x116

Fax: 860 647-8940

Cell: 860 836-9294

Email: joe@righttracfg.com

www.righttracfg.com

www.joepetrowsky.com

Like me on facebookfollow me on twitterConnect with me on linkedin

Joe Petrowsky does not guarantee nor is in any way responsible for the accuracy of the information provided herein, and provides said information without warranties of any kind, either expressed or implied.

Equal Housing Statement: We are pledged to the letter and spirit of U.S. policy for the achievement of equal housing opportunity throughout the Nation. We encourage and support an affirmative advertising and marketing program in which there are no barriers to obtaining housing becuase of race, color, religion, sex, handicap, familial status, or national origin.

Comment balloon 14 commentsJoe Petrowsky • December 09 2015 01:13PM

Comments

Hi Joe.  I hope that all parties will be reasonable and give you the needed time to allow this sale to successfully close.

Posted by Gabe Sanders, Stuart Florida Real Estate (Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales) over 3 years ago

Good morning Joe.  Well sir it sound like the hard part of the negotiations has already happened.  Maybe the next part will be easier, at least lets hope so

Posted by James Dray, Exceptional Agents, Outstanding Results (Fathom Realty) over 3 years ago

Yes, these sort of issues can create a domino effect.  I hope it gets resolved quickly.

Posted by Women of Westchester Working Together, Women helping Women get ahead (Women of Westchester Working Together) over 3 years ago

Understandable how there could be some hard feelings.  Hopefully it will all work out and in less time than expected.

Posted by Roger D. Mucci, Lets shake things up at your home today! (Shaken...with a Twist 216.633.2092) over 3 years ago

Don't you hate it when this happens, Joe? Fortunately, I've found that 2-week long negotiations on repairs are the exception rather than the rule. But once hard feelings between buyer and seller begin, it can be difficult to get them back on track.

Posted by Nina Hollander, Your Charlotte/Ballantyne/Waxhaw/Fort Mill Realtor (Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage ) over 3 years ago

Some deals go so smoothly we keep waiting for something bad to happen, and others are a constant source of anxiety. Good for you for keeping on top of the situation!

Posted by Kat Palmiotti, The House Kat (Grand Lux Realty, Monroe NY, 914-419-0270, kat@thehousekat.com) over 3 years ago

Good call on getting this extension done now while all parties clearly remember the cause of the extension.  Make it a great weekend.  Mark

Posted by Mark Don McInnes, Sandpoint, North Idaho Real Estate - 208-255.6227 over 3 years ago

Joe,

Polarization of the parties is a dangerous thing.  It does cause delays and hard feelings.  More people need to develop emotional IQ and common sense.  A

Posted by Ron and Alexandra Seigel, Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy (Napa Consultants) over 3 years ago

The parties need to understand that delays in resolving home inspection issues will likely delay the settlement. 

Posted by Roy Kelley (Realty Group Referrals) over 3 years ago

Joe can't take forever to negotiate and then expect commitment and closing to happen as scheduled.  Good advice to have them start talking about the extension now rather than later.

Posted by George Souto, Your Connecticut Mortgage Expert (George Souto NMLS #65149 FHA, CHFA, VA Mortgages) over 3 years ago

Joe

Some transaction seem to take longer then others . . . . Looks like this one of them.

Good luck and success.

Lou Ludwig

Posted by Lou Ludwig, Designations Earned CRB, CRS, CIPS, GRI, SRES, TRC (Ludwig & Associates) over 3 years ago

That is rough Joe, I have a listing closing next week and the buyer did not want anything on the inspection yet others fight over nickels and dimes.

Posted by Noah Seidenberg, Chicagoland and Suburbs (800) 858-7917 (Coldwell Banker) over 3 years ago

Home inspections can sometimes delay a closing Joe Petrowsky but better too get them worked out now instead of across the closing table.

Posted by DEANNA EARLY - - ( NMLS # 268590 ), Highest Ranked Mortgage Loan Originator Virginia (American National Bank & Trust) over 3 years ago

Home inspection extensions are not very common here....and it is the Selling agent's responsibility to discuss with the listing agent what can be done by when and work with the lender to make things run as closely to the deadline as possible.

Posted by Sally K. & David L. Hanson, WI Realtors - Luxury - Divorce (EXP Realty 414-525-0563) over 3 years ago

Participate